Did You Know These Famous Personalities Also Held Highly Designated Posts In The Territorial Army

The Indian Territorial Army (TA) is a second line of defence after the Regular Indian Army; it is not a profession, occupation or a source of employment. It is only meant for those people who are already in mainstay civilian professions; in fact, gainful employment or self-employment in a civil profession is a prerequisite for joining the Territorial Army.

Volunteers of the Territorial Army usually serve in uniform for 2–3 months every year, so that they can bear arms for national defence in times of dire need or national emergencies.

History Of Territorial Army

The Territorial Army was started by the Britishers in 1920 through Indian Territorial Act of 1920 and it was organized into two wings namely ‘The Auxiliary Force’ for Europeans & Anglo-Indians, and ‘The Indian Territorial Force’ for Indian Volunteers.  After Independence Territorial Army Act was passed in 1948 and the Territorial Army was formally inaugurated by the first Indian Governor General Shri C Rajagopalachari on 09 Oct 1949.  This date is being celebrated as Prime Minister’s TA Day Parade every year.

In this article we will inform you about some famous personalities who held high designated posts in Territorial Army (TA).

1. Lt Col (Hony) Kapil Dev

Granted Honorary Rank of Lieutenant Colonel in TA on 24 September 2008 in infantry battalions (TA) Punjab. The Indian Cricket team under his able Captaincy lifted the Coveted Prudential One Day International World Cup in 1983. On 23rd July 2002, he was awarded "Wisden Indian Cricketer of the Century".

2. Brigadier Kapil Mohan

Kapil Mohan was an Indian entrepreneur and the chairman and managing director of Mohan Meakin, a brewer and distiller based in Ghaziabad.
He was Commissioned on 20 May 1959, and has participated in 1965 and 1971 Indo-Pak wars.
He was a recipient of the Vishisht Seva Medal and Awarded Himachal Ratna by the Government of Himachal Pradesh in 2001.

3. Lt Col (Hony) Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Granted the Honorary Rank of Lieutenant Colonel in TA on 02 September 2011 in Infantry Battalion (TA) PARA. An international figure representing India for over 10 years in Cricket. Shri MS Dhoni led the Indian Cricket Team to maiden T-20 World Cup in 2007 and in ODI World Cup in 2011.

4. Lt Col (Hony) Mohanlal

He was granted Honorary Rank of Lieutenant Colonel in TA on 19 May 2009 in Infantry Battalion (TA) MADRAS. He has toiled through the unpredictable world of cinema in Kerala since 1977 to build a reputation as an artist of immense talent.
The Malyam actor was formally piped in at the ceremony held in South Block by Former Army Chief General Deepak Kapoor .

5. Lieutenant Sachin Pilot

Sachin Pilot (born 7 September 1977) is an Indian politician who served as the Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan and also President of the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee.
As Member of the Congress party, he has represented the Tonk assembly seat in Rajasthan since 2018. Sachin became the youngest citizen of India to become Member of Parliament.
He is first Union Minister commissioned as an officer in the Territorial Army (India), fulfilling his desire to follow his father's footsteps to be in the armed forces.
He is Commissioned on 06 Sep 2012 and posted to Inf Bn (TA) SIKH. He was Hon'ble Minister of State of Government of India.

6. Lieutenant Anurag Singh Thakur

Anurag Singh Thakur (born 24 October 1974) is an Indian politician from the Bharatiya Janata Party and a Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha from Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh. He is the current Minister of Sports, Youth Affairs and Minister of Information and Broadcasting in the Second Modi ministry. Previously, Thakur served as a Minister of State for Finance and Corporate Affairs.
He was the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from May 2015 to February 2017, and had to leave that position after the Supreme Court order on BCCI governance.
On July 29, 2016, he became the first serving Member of Parliament from the BJP to become a regular commissioned officer in the Territorial Army posted to Inf Bn (TA) SIKH.

7. Lt Col (Hony) Abhinav Bindra

Granted Honorary Rank of Lieutenant Colonel in TA on 02 September 2011 in 124 Infantry Battalion (TA) SIKH. Shri Abhinav Bindra, the brightest star among a new breed of talented Indian Shooters, won the first individual Gold Medal at the Olympics in 2010 and also won Gold Medal in Men's 10 meter Air Rifle event at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland.

8. Birender Singh

Served in Burma as a Regular Army officer in the Second World War. Commissioned in TA on 31st Aug 1950 and was Union Minister of Agriculture from Jan 1980 to Dec 1984.

9. Brig KP Singh Deo

Commissioned in Independent India's first Air Defence Territorial Army Regiment on 01 Jun 1971, the 144 ADTA. Participated in 1971 Indo-Pak war. Appointed Honorary Aide-de-Camp to the President of India in 1994. He has been Awarded Ati Vishisht Seva Medal in 1994 for his services as a TA Officer.
He was Minister of State for Defence from Jan 1983 to Dec 1984 and Minister of Information & Broadcasting from Jan 1993 to Sep 1995.

10. Brig SS Sawant

He was commissioned on 01 Jun 1993 with antedate seniority from 13 Jun 1978 and posted to 109 Inf Bn (TA) MARATHA LI. The Officer retired as Deputy Director General TA (Inf). He was Member of Parliament.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.